California Son
28. February 2019 By Walter Price 0

Morrissey (feat. LP) has Roy Orbison – “It’s Over” covered (California Son out May 24, 2019)

Morrissey – California Son pre-order info available @ iTunes.

California Son

by Walter Price


When Morrissey covered The Pretenders’ “Back on the Chain Gang” late last year, I was immediately drawn to his increased use of his maturing crooner vocal style. It was a welcoming signal that things were changing, for the best.  That cover had the internet abuzz for good reason, it was one of Moz’s most exciting twists in an already storied career. And here we are today and former The Smiths frontman has announced a full covers album. And the first single is a beautiful rendition of Roy Orbison’s 1964 classic “It’s Over”. An out of nowhere full-on tribute rather than an arrogant reimagining.

The blending of an orchestral dream, with soulful rockabilly power, Morrissey with help from the operatic LP (Laura Pergolizzi) take this track into the now without destroying the beauty of the past. And again and for good reason, this track is causing a fervor amongst fans and the jaded music press alike.

“It’s Over” will feature on the forthcoming ‘California Son’ album, due May of this year. It will be sprinkled with guests like Billie Joe Armstrong, Ed Droste (Grizzly Bear), Petra Haden, and more.



01 Jobriath – “Morning Starship” (Feat. Grizzly Bear’s Ed Droste)
02 Joni Mitchell – “Don’t Interrupt The Sorrow” (Feat. Broken Social Scene’s Ariel Engle)
03 Bob Dylan – “Only A Pawn In Their Game” (Feat. Petra Haden)
04 Buffy St Marie – “Suffer The Little Children”
05 Phil Ochs – “Days Of Decision” (Feat. Young The Giant’s Sameer Gadhia)
06 Roy Orbison – “It’s Over” (Feat. LP)
07 The Fifth Dimension – “Wedding Bell Blues” (Feat. Green Day’s Billie Joe Armstrong & the Regrettes’ Lydia Night)
08 Dionne Warwick – “Loneliness Remembers What Happiness Forgets”
09 Gary Puckett – “Lady Willpower”
10 Carly Simon – “When You Close Your Eyes” (Feat. Petra Haden)
11 Tim Hardin – “Lenny’s Tune”
12 Melanie – “Some Say I Got Devil”


support great artists, buy music