music blog edition july
13. July 2017 By Walter Price 0

GTC Has Track Picks Real Rock And Roll Music Blog Edition July 2017 Pt. 1

Fresh Track Picks, Real Rock And Roll Music Blog Edition July 2017.

music blog edition july


Presented by

Real Rock And Roll Music Blog

You wanted the best we got the best…

Tracks by Misty Miller, Hailmary, and The Magpie Salute!!!

Real Rock And Roll

Website / Twitter / Facebook


MISTY MILLER – ‘Girlfriend’

by Neil Schiller

Misty Miller is another of my Spotify finds the result of a three-hour marathon of following links and similar artists until I’m so far down the rabbit hole I can’t remember where I started. When I do find stuff like this though, it convinces me it’s all worth wasting hours of my life for.

Apparently, Miller started out as a bit of a wholesome, blonde haired folkie. I’m not sure when she transitioned to pop-punk, but the folk world’s loss is definitely our gain. ‘Girlfriend’ is a great three-chord romp, with some nice twangy surf guitar overlaid to give it a bit more indie credibility.

I had a tough time picking which song to feature here to be honest, as her album The Whole Family is Worried is generally pretty great. Check out the bluesy torch song ‘Devil’ which is almost, almost, the track I put up here instead of this one. That reminds me of Jeff Buckley’s version of ‘Hallelujah’. Or ‘Happy’ which has the feel of an early Blondie song.

Anyway, she’s good, isn’t she?

 facebook / twitter


HAILMARY – ‘Longest Line’

By Maria Haskins

Australian rockers Hailmary have been one of my favourite bands for the last several years, and it’s great to see them back with a brand new video for ‘The Longest Line’.

This track was taken from the band’s release ‘Evolve Dissolve’ (read my review), and the footage for the video was filmed all across the UK on Hailmary’s “Uglier Than They Used to Be” tour supporting Ugly Kid Joe.

Facebook / Twitter / YouTube / Bandcamp


The Magpie Salute – ‘Omission’

by Maria Savva

Today’s track of the day, “Omission”—a glorious Blues-Rock song—is from The Magpie Salute’s debut album, which was released on 9th of June 2017.

“THE MAGPIE SALUTE is an exciting new band that features musicians who have played together for decades throughout various projects and share a musical bond. The band brings Rich Robinson, the guitarist and co-founding member of The Black Crowes, together with two key members of Crowes fame – guitarist Marc Ford and bassist Sven Pipien – alongside drummer Joe Magistro and guitarist Nico Bereciartua. The Magpie Salute also boasts a fine cast of vocalists, including lead singer John Hogg(Hookah Brown, Moke), former Crowes singer Charity White and background singers, Adrien Reju and Katrine Ottosen.”


You can stream the album on Spotify, buy on iTunesAmazon, or from the band’s website. The band is currently on tour in Europe. They start their US tour later this month.

facebook / twitter / Instagram